Ohio State Men’s Basketball Announces Big Ten Schedule

By August 23, 2019 (12:19 pm)Basketball

The Ohio State men’s basketball program announced its Big Ten schedule for the 2019-20 season, which includes a tough nonconference slate.

The Buckeyes open their Big Ten slate against Penn State on Dec. 7 at the Schottenstein Center, followed by a trip to Minnesota to take on the Golden Gophers on Dec. 15.

The Scarlet and Gray enter season No. 108 for the program in the Big Ten. It will be the second season where the regular-season conference title will be determined following a 20-game schedule, where they face 10 Big Ten foes at home and 10 on the road.

Ohio State will play Minnesota, Indiana, Michigan, Penn State, Maryland, Wisconsin and Nebraska for home-and-home series. And the Buckeyes play Iowa, Michigan State and Northwestern only on the road. Illinois, Purdue and Rutgers will oppose Ohio State only in Columbus.

After kicking off the Big Ten season with victories against Wisconsin on the road and Michigan at home in Dec. 2017 and wins over Minnesota at home and Illinois on the road last season, the Buckeyes will strive for another hot start in conference action.

Ohio State head coach Chris Holtmann enters his third season at the helm in Columbus following a 25-9 overall record in 2017-18 and a 20-15 ledger in 2018-19, advancing to the second round of the NCAA Tourney both years. The Buckeyes defeated South Dakota State before falling to Gonzaga in the 2018 West Regional in Boise, Idaho.

With 19 regular-season games against 13 teams that advanced to postseason play in 2019, Ohio State’s schedule presents challenges against top programs.

Fifteen games are scheduled against 2019 NCAA Tournament teams (Maryland-2, Minnesota-2, Michigan State-1, Michigan-2, Wisconsin-2, Villanova-1, Purdue-1, Cincinnati-1, Iowa-1, Kentucky-1, North Carolina-1), while the Buckeyes have four contests against 2019 NIT squads (Indiana-2, Nebraska-2).

The annual Big Ten Tournament will be contested in Indianapolis in 2020.

Game times and television designations will be announced at a later date for the upcoming season.

Nov. 1Indianapolis (Exhibition)Columbus7 p.m. - W, 82-46N/A
Nov. 9AkronColumbus6 p.m. - W, 67-66N/A
Nov. 12NiagaraColumbus7 p.m. - W, 84-74N/A
Nov. 15Bowling GreenColumbus6:30 p.m. - W, 89-58N/A
Nov. 18at XavierCincinnati, OH6:30 p.m. - L, 71-65N/A
Nov. 22at Seton HallFort Myers, FL6 p.m. - W, 79-76N/A
Nov. 24at FloridaFort Myers, FL8:30 p.m. - L, 71-68N/A
Nov. 30DukeColumbus9:30 p.m. - W, 71-66N/A
Dec. 5at Penn StateUniversity Park, PA7:30 p.m. - W, 76-64N/A
Dec. 8TowsonColumbus9 p.m. - W, 85-74N/A
Dec. 11WisconsinColumbus12 p.m. - W, 73-55N/A
Dec. 18at KentuckyLas Vegas, NVCancelledN/A
Dec. 21Tennessee MartinColumbusCancelledN/A
Dec. 28New OrleansColumbusCancelledN/A
Jan. 2at NebraskaLincoln, NE8 p.m. - W, 87-79 (OT)N/A
Jan. 6at IndianaBloomington, IN7 p.m. - L, 67-51N/A
Jan. 9NorthwesternColumbus5:30 p.m. - W, 95-87N/A
Jan. 13at WisconsinMadison, WI7 p.m. - L, 78-68N/A
Jan. 16Penn StateColumbus12 p.m. - W, 61-56N/A
Jan. 18IUPUIColumbus7 p.m. - W, 83-37N/A
Jan. 22NebraskaColumbusPostponedBTN
Jan. 27at MinnesotaMinneapolis, MN7 p.m.ESPN2
Jan. 30at PurdueWest Lafayette, IN12 p.m.CBS
Feb. 3IowaColumbus8 p.m.FS1
Feb. 6MarylandColumbus1 p.m.CBS
Feb. 9at RutgersPiscataway, NJ7 p.m.BTN
Feb. 12at MichiganAnn Arbor, Mich.6 p.m.ESPN/ESPN2
Feb. 15MinnesotaColumbus8:30 p.m.BTN
Feb. 19IndianaColumbus12 p.m.ESPN
Feb. 24at IllinoisChampaign, IL9 p.m.FS1
Feb. 27at MarylandCollege Park, MD4 p.m.CBS
March 3Michigan StateColumbus7 p.m.ESPN/ESPN2
March 6MichiganColumbus12:30 p.m.FOX
March 9-13Big Ten Men's Basketball TournamentIndianapolis, INTBATBA
image_pdfClick for PDFimage_printClick to Print