Skip to main content

Ohio State’s Dwayne Haskins Picks Up Pair Of Big Ten Awards

By November 28, 2018 (5:10 pm)Football

Ohio State sophomore quarterback Dwayne Haskins was named the Big Ten’s offensive player of the week a record six times this year. On Wednesday, he added to his trophy haul with a pair of seasonal awards in the conference.

Haskins, a first-year starter from Potomac, Md., was named the Big Ten’s Graham-George Offensive Player of the Year and the Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year after setting conference single-season marks for passing yards (4,081) and passing touchdowns (42) during the regular season.

The signal caller has completed 314 of 455 passes (69.0 percent) with just seven interceptions this year to go with four rushing touchdowns. This year, he has set the school single-season records for passing yards, passing touchdowns, pass attempts, completions, completion percentage, pass yards per game (340.1), 400-yard passing games (4), 300-yard passing games (8), 200-yard passing games (12) and total offense per game (350.7).

He also holds the Ohio State single-game records for attempts (73), completions (49) and pass yards (470), which were all set against Purdue. He tied the single-game record for passing touchdowns (6) twice, including last week in Ohio State’s 62-39 win over Michigan.

Haskins joins a long list of Buckeyes to be named the Big Ten’s Offensive Player of the Year. That group includes running back Eddie George (1995), offensive tackle Orlando Pace (1996), quarterback Joe Germaine (1998), quarterback Troy Smith (2006), quarterback Braxton Miller (2012-13) and running back Ezekiel Elliott (2015). He’s the third Ohio State player to be named the conference’s quarterback of the year, which has gone to a Buckeye five times previously. Miller won it in 2012 and 2013 while J.T. Barrett picked up the honor in 2014, 2016 and 2017.

Haskins and the No. 6 Buckeyes (11-1) are set to return to the field Saturday in Indianapolis for the Big Ten championship game against No. 21 Northwestern (8-4). Kickoff at Lucas Oil Stadium is set for 8 p.m. on FOX.

image_pdfClick for PDFimage_printClick to Print