Ohio State Quarterback Justin Fields Earns Top Big Ten Offensive Honor, Nine Buckeyes Make All-Big Ten Teams

By December 15, 2020 (12:13 pm)Football

The Big Ten released its offensive awards for the 2020 football season and, unsurprisingly, Ohio State junior quarterback Justin Fields came out with the highest honor.

Fields was named the Graham-George Offensive Player of the Year, as well as the Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year for his efforts in five games for the Buckeyes.

The third-year quarterback, who was also named to the All-Big Ten first team, completed 78.1 percent of his passes, best in the FBS, for 1,407 yards, 15 touchdowns and just three interceptions. He also ran for 239 yards and five scores on 4.3 yards per carry.

This is the second year in a row Fields has won both honors, doing the same in 2019, his first season as a collegiate starter. The former five-star prospect also went on to become a Heisman Trophy finalist, finishing third in the votes.

Also earning a top honor was junior guard Wyatt Davis, who was named the Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the year for his efforts in getting the Buckeyes to average 251.0 yards per game on the ground, best in the Big Ten. Last year, that honor was won by Iowa’s Tristan Wirfs.

Davis and Fields were joined by junior center Josh Myers, senior offensive tackle Thayer Munford, junior wide receiver Chris Olave and sophomore receiver Garrett Wilson on the All-Big Ten first team, as selected by the coaches. Sophomore tackle Nicholas Petit-Frere and sophomore running back Master Teague both made the second team, while sophomore guard Harry Miller made the third team.

Despite being named to the first team, neither Olave nor Wilson won the Richter-Howard Receiver of the Year honor, with that going to Indiana’s Ty Fryfogle.

In total, nine Ohio State players were named to teams, with senior running back Trey Sermon, senior tight end Luke Farrell and junior tight end Jeremy Ruckert also getting listed as honorable mentions.

On the media ballot, only Fields, Davis and Munford were first-team selections, while Myers, Olave and Wilson fell to the second team. Ohio State had no third-team selections from the media.

The Big Ten will release the defensive awards on Wednesday and special teams on Thursday, along with the coach awards.

Photo Credit: Courtesy of Ohio State Athletics

For four free issues of the print edition of Buckeye Sports Bulletin, no card required, sign up at the link here: http://www.buckeyesports.com/subscribe-4issue-trial/

image_pdfClick for PDFimage_printClick to Print