Trio Of Buckeyes Land On Maxwell Award Preseason Watch List

By July 18, 2022 (10:33 am)Football

Ohio State is well-represented on the 2022 Maxwell Award Watch List as a trio of offensive stars landed on the list on Monday.

Redshirt sophomore quarterback C.J. Stroud, sophomore running back TreVeyon Henderson and junior wide receiver Jaxon Smith-Njigba all found themselves on the preseason watch list for the award. The Maxwell Award is given to the best player in college football annually, as voted on by NCAA head coaches, members of the Maxwell Football Club and national sports writers.

The trio of offensive standouts helped Ohio State capture the nation’s best offense last season, averaging 561.2 yards and 45.7 points per game.

Stroud was the catalyst for the offense, shaking off a rocky start to the 2021 season to throw for 4,435 yards and 44 touchdowns en route to being a finalist for the Heisman Trophy. The star quarterback relied heavily on Smith-Njigba last year, who burst onto the scene with team-bests 95 receptions and 1,606 receiving yards, alongside nine touchdowns.

Henderson aided the Buckeyes passing game with an efficient season on the ground. The Hopewell, Va., native racked up 1,248 rushing yards and 15 rushing touchdowns on 183 carries last year. He churned out a whopping 6.8 average yards per carry, tied for second-best in the Big Ten.

As the season approaches, the Maxwell Award Watch List, once again proves that the expectations are high for the Buckeyes’ offense. Ohio State is the only school with three players garnering spots on the preseason watch list for the award.

image_pdfClick for PDFimage_printClick to Print