Ohio State’s Bill Dorenkott Earns Big Ten Women’s Swimming Coach of the Year Honor

By May 26, 2020 (1:00 pm)Sports, Swimming & Diving

Bill Dorenkott – the Ohio State Director of Swimming and Diving – was named the Big Ten Women’s Swimming Coach of the Year.

Bill Dorenkott – courtesy of Ohio State athletics.

Dorenkott garnered coach of the year honors after the Buckeyes captured the Big Ten Women’s Swimming and Diving Championship in 2020, marking the program’s first title in 34 years (1986). 

The award is Dorenkott’s first Coach of the Year honor since coming to Ohio State. He won the award in 2005 as a coach at Penn State. The Cleveland State product became a Buckeye in 2008, beginning as the women’s swimming coach and becoming the director of swimming and diving in 2017. 

The director of swimming and diving helped guide 14 Ohio State swimmers to qualify for the NCAA Championships and 19 student-athletes to garner College Swimming Coaches Association of America All-American accolades.

Across his 12 seasons in Columbus, Dorenkott has accrued a 96-20 record as well as five top-three finishes at the Big Ten Championships, including the 2020 title.

At the 2020 Big Ten Championships, Dorenkott helped Buckeye swimmers win gold medals in the 500-yard freestyle, 1,650 freestyle, and the 200-yard freestyle relay.

For four free issues of the now-monthly print edition of Buckeye Sports Bulletin, no card required, sign up at the link here: http://www.buckeyesports.com/subscribe-4issue-trial/

image_pdfClick for PDFimage_printClick to Print