Ohio State Quarterback Justin Fields Named To Maxwell Award Watch List

By July 24, 2020 (6:00 pm)Football

Just 10 days after he was named to the preseason watch list for the Davey O’Brien Award, Ohio State junior quarterback Justin Fields was one of 90 players named to the watch list for the Maxwell Award on Friday morning.

In his first season as a starter after transferring from Georgia, Fields completed 67.2 percent of his passes for 3,273 yards and 41 touchdowns and rushed for 484 yards and 10 more scores to lead Ohio State to a Big Ten title and the College Football Playoff last fall.

Fields was a finalists for the Heisman Trophy and Davey O’Brien Award, both of which were won by LSU quarterback Joe Burrow, as well as first-team All-Big Ten and the conference’s offensive player and quarterback of the year. He was also a second-team All-American selection.

The Maxwell Award, which is named after former Swarthmore College football player coach and sportswriter Robert “Tiny” Maxwell, is presented annually by the Maxwell Football Club to the best all-around player in the country. The Buckeyes have had four previous winners, Howard “Hopalong” Cassady in 1955, Bob Ferguson in 1961, Archie Griffin in 1975 and Eddie George in 1995.

For four free issues of the now-monthly print edition of Buckeye Sports Bulletin, sign up at the link below. No credit card required: http://www.buckeyesports.com/subscribe-4issue-trial/

image_pdfClick for PDFimage_printClick to Print