Skip to main content

Ohio State Hockey Players Earn AHCA All-American Scholar Honors

By July 25, 2020 (10:00 am)Hockey, Sports

Student-athletes on the Ohio State men’s and women’s hockey teams were named Krampade AHCA All-American Scholars, announced by the American Hockey Coaches Association.

In order to to qualify for the honor this year, student-athletes must have attained at least a 3.75 grade-point average (GPA) for the autumn semester and participated in 40 percent of their team’s games. A waiver was granted to the 40 percent participation requirement because of injury or for back-up goaltenders.

Eight Buckeye student-athletes on the women’s team were recognized for their excellence in the classroom. Fifth-year senior Jincy Dunne (sports coaching master’s) and sophomore Sara Saekkinen (sport industry) became two-time honorees, while senior Maddie Babnik (finance), juniors Lisa Bruno (sport industry) and Tatum Skaggs (special education) and sophomores Madison Bizal (sport industry), Andrea Braendli (criminology and criminal justice/psychology) and Gabby Rosenthal (speech and hearing science) all earned a spot on the list for the first time.

Each women’s player honored besides Babnik earned Big Ten Distinguished Scholar and Academic All-Big Ten accolades and all eight were Ohio State Scholar-Athletes.

The Ohio State men’s hockey team tied for the most selections among Big Ten schools with four honorees. For the second season, junior Austin Pooley (finance) earned the honor, joined by sophomore Quinn Preston (health sciences) and freshmen C.J. Regula (management and industry exploration) and Ryan Snowden (management and industry exploration).

Pooley and Preston were also Big Ten Distinguished Scholars and on the Academic All-Big Ten team in 2019-20, while all four earned Ohio State Scholar-Athlete laurels.

For four free issues of the now-monthly print edition of Buckeye Sports Bulletin, no card required, sign up at the link here:

image_pdfClick for PDFimage_printClick to Print