Skip to main content

Ohio State Defensive Backs Denzel Burke, Lathan Ransom On Watch List For Jim Thorpe Award

By August 10, 2023 (1:47 pm)Football

Ohio State cornerback Denzel Burke and safety Lathan Ransom were included Thursday on the preseason watch list for the Jim Thorpe Award, which is given annually to the top defensive back in college football.

Burke is returning for his third season at Ohio State – and third as a starter – while Ransom is entering his fourth season with the Buckeyes. After a stellar freshman campaign, Burke saw a slight decline last season, though the cornerback still finished with 34 tackles – three for loss – with five pass breakups.

Ransom, meanwhile, supplanted Josh Proctor at bandit safety just one game into the season, and went on to finish as Ohio State’s third-leading tackler, with 74 stops – 3.5 for loss – with an interceptions, three pass breakups and a forced fumble.

The award, named after legendary athlete Jim Thorpe, has been given out every year since 1986. Ohio State has had two previous winners: Antoine Winfield in 1998 and Malcolm Jenkins in 2008. The current list of 35 players will be whittled down to the semifinalists on Oct. 31, followed by the finalists on Nov. 28 before the winner is announced at The Home Depot College Football Awards in December.

image_pdfClick for PDFimage_printClick to Print