Skip to main content

Ohio State Baseball Earns NCAA Tournament Bid

By May 29, 2018 (10:02 am)Baseball, Sports

The Ohio State baseball team was announced as the No. 3 seed in the Greenville Regional of the NCAA tournament on Monday. The Buckeyes (36-22) will square off against No. 2 seed South Carolina (33-24) at Clark-LeClair Stadium in Greeneville, N.C., at 2 p.m. ET Friday live on ESPN2.

Joining Ohio State and South Carolina in the region are No. 1 seed and host East Carolina and No. 4 seed UNC-Wilmington.

An at-large bid, Ohio State will make its 21st NCAA tournament appearance in program history and second in three years. The Scarlet and Gray will represent the Big Ten along with Indiana, Minnesota and Purdue.

Ohio State is 6-13 all-time vs. South Carolina, which won back-to-back national titles in 2010 and 2011, and 43-41 all-time in the NCAA Tournament.

“I’m happy with the location and Clark-LeClair Stadium is a really cool place for college baseball,” OSU head coach Greg Beals said. “We’ve been there, four or five years ago, we played in a tournament there in the preseason. Great college baseball atmosphere. You’re playing the University of South Carolina. Obviously, a very good historical program. You’re not going to play at this time of year that’s not a formidable opponent.

“So we’re going to dig in, put a game plan together and get ready to go Friday at 2 o’clock. When I think about being selected in general, just really happy for our guys and a validation of the work that’s been put in from recovering from a 2016 championship, a battling season last year to back in the NCAA tournament here in 2018. This makes two out of the last three years for our program. It’s a trend that we certainly want and expect to keep rolling in that direction.”

The winner of the Greenville Regional will move on to a Super Regional the second weekend of June and face the winner of the Fayetteville Regional, which consists of Arkansas, Oral Roberts, Dallas Baptist and Southern Miss. The Super Regional is a best two-of-three format with the winner advancing to the eight-team College World Series, scheduled for June 16-27 at TD Ameritrade Park in Omaha, Neb.

image_pdfClick for PDFimage_printClick to Print