Ohio State Announces 2023 Baseball Schedule

By December 1, 2022 (2:17 pm)Baseball, Sports

As Ohio State prepares to usher in a new era of Buckeye baseball — after the program hired Bill Mosiello to replace 12-year manager Greg Beals on June 16 — OSU set its schedule for the 2023 season, which includes 26 home games, on Thursday.

Mosiello’s maiden voyage with the Buckeyes is set to begin with a four-game series against Connecticut from Feb. 17-20 in Florida — alternating venues between Venice, Sarasota and Port Charlotte. Ohio State then heads to Phoenix, Ariz., for a round-robin series with Gonzaga and Grand Canyon — playing each team twice — from Feb. 23-26. OSU remains in the American Southwest the following weekend, traveling to Frisco, Texas, for the Frisco Classic from March 3-5 — competing against Mississippi State, California and Oklahoma. After the Frisco Classic, the Buckeyes head to Bakersfield, Calif., for a three-game series with Cal State Bakersfield from March 10-12. Ohio State’s early-season tour across America ends with a two-game set against Marshall in Huntington, W.V., on March 14-15.

The Buckeyes finally host their first home series on March 17-19, taking on Dayton at Bill Davis Stadium. Ohio State remains in Columbus for a pair of mid-week games against Wright State on March 21 and Toledo on March 22 before kicking off Big Ten play against Indiana in Bloomington from March 24-26.

After hosting Xavier for a mid-week game on March 28, the Buckeyes welcome Minnesota to Columbus for their first home Big Ten series of the season from March 31-April 2. Kent State comes to Bill Davis Stadium on April 2 before Ohio State treks to Michigan State from April 7-9.

Beals returns to Columbus, after agreeing to become Akron’s next manager in July, as the Buckeyes host the Zips on April 11 at 6 p.m. Bowling Green comes to Ohio State the following day with first pitch set for 6 p.m.

Ohio State continues Big Ten play against Maryland with a three-game series set for April 14-16 at home, before hitting the road to take on Miami (Ohio) in Oxford on April 18, Penn State in State College, Pa., from April 21-23. The Buckeyes then head to Kent, Ohio, to play Kent State on April 25.

The Buckeyes return home to host Illinois from April 28-30 and then head to Fairborn, Ohio, to play Wright State on May 2. Following the game against the Raiders, Ohio State stays on the road for a three-game set in Iowa City, Iowa, to take on the Hawkeyes from May 5-7. The Buckeyes then host a trio of non-conference opponents, taking on UCF on May 9, Central Michigan on May 10 and UNC-Greensboro from May 12-14.

Ohio State concludes the regular season at home, hosting the defending Big Ten champions and archrival Michigan from May 18-20.

The Big Ten Tournament is set for May 24-28 in Omaha, Neb., while the NCAA post-season will run from June 2-26.

image_pdfClick for PDFimage_printClick to Print