Four Buckeyes Appear On Walter Camp Award Preseason Watch List

By August 12, 2023 (9:00 am)Football

Four Ohio State players – linebacker Tommy Eichenberg, running back TreVeyon Henderson and wide receivers Emeka Egbuka and Marvin Harrison Jr. – were included on the preseason watch list Friday for the Walter Camp Award, which is given annually to the top player in college football.

Ohio State’s four selections were the most, with the next closest schools (Florida State, LSU, Michigan, Notre Dame, Oregon, Penn State, Texas and Washington) each having only two representatives.

Harrison and Egbuka both return after stellar sophomore seasons, with Harrison leading Ohio State with 77 receptions for 1,263 yards and 14 touchdowns, while Egbuka followed closely behind with 74 catches for 1,151 yards and 10 scores. Henderson had a limited season, appearing in only eight games and rushing for just 571 yards after a 1,248-yard outing in his freshman season.

Eichenberg was a leader for Ohio State’s defense, finishing with 120 tackles – the most since linebacker Joshua Perry had 124 stops in 2014 – and he is expected to be among the best linebackers in the nation this season.

Ohio State has had three individual winners and four total trophies, with running backs Archie Griffin (1974, 1975) and Eddie George (1995) winning the award, as well as quarterback Troy Smith taking home the honors in 2006. The watch list will be narrowed down to 10 semifinalists in mid-November, with the winner to be announce at The Home Depot College Football Awards in December.

image_pdfClick for PDFimage_printClick to Print