E.J. Liddell Named To Midseason Wooden Award Watch List

By January 7, 2022 (3:00 pm)Basketball

Ohio State junior forward E.J. Liddell has been named to the Midseason Top 25 Wooden Award Watch List. The Wooden Award is given annually to the top men’s and women’s basketball player in the country.

This season, Liddell has averaged 18.9 points, 7.4 rebounds, 2.7 assists and 2.9 blocks per game, all of which lead Ohio State, who sits with a 9-3 record and a 3-1 mark in the Big Ten.

The Big Ten leads all conferences with nine selections, followed by the Pac-12 with four, the Big 12 with three, the ACC, SEC and WCC with two selections each, and the Big East, Mountain West and Summit League each with one selection.

Fifteen players will be named to the National Ballot prior to the NCAA Tournament, and the Wooden Award All American Team will be announced the week of the Elite Eight. The winner of the Wooden Award will then be presented following the conclusion of the NCAA Tournament.

Ohio State has just one previous winner in small forward Evan Turner, who won the prestigious award in the 2009-10 season.

According to Vegas Insider, Liddell is tied for the second-best odds to win the award at +800, tied with Wisconsin’s Johnny Davis and behind Gonzaga’s Drew Timme.

The full list can be viewed below:

Max AbmasOral RobertsSummit League6-0Jr.G
Ochai AgbajiKansasBig 126-5Sr.G
James AkinjoBaylorBig 126-1Sr.G
Paolo BancheroDukeACC6-10Fr.F
Izaiah BrockingtonIowa StateBig 126-4Sr.G
Kofi Cockburn*IllinoisBig Ten7-0Jr.C
Johnny DavisWisconsinBig Ten6-5So.G
Hunter Dickinson*MichiganBig Ten7-1So.C
Zach EdeyPurdueBig Ten7-4So.C
Collin GillespieVillanovaBig East6-3Sr.G
Chet HolmgrenGonzagaWCC7-0Fr.C
Jaden IveyPurdueBig Ten6-4So.G
Trayce Jackson-DavisIndianaBig Ten6-9Jr.F
Jaime Jaquez Jr.UCLAPac-126-7Jr.G/F
Johnny JuzangUCLAPac-126-7Jr.G
E.J. LiddellOhio StateBig Ten6-7Jr.F
Bennedict MathurinArizonaPac-126-6So.G
Isaiah MobleyUSCPac-126-10Jr.F
Wendell Moore Jr.DukeACC6-5Jr.F
Keegan MurrayIowaBig Ten6-8So.F
David RoddyColorado StateMountain West6-6Jr.F
Jabari SmithAuburnSEC6-10Fr.F
Drew Timme*GonzagaWCC6-10Jr.F
Oscar TshiebweKentuckySEC6-9Jr.F
Trevion WilliamsPurdueBig Ten6-10Sr.F
* indicates player selected as 2020-21 Wooden Award All American
image_pdfClick for PDFimage_printClick to Print