Skip to main content

Tommy Eichenberg, J.T. Tuimoloau, Denzel Burke Named First-Team All-Big Ten

By November 28, 2023 (1:22 pm)Football

Ohio State saw three players named first-team All-Big Ten on Tuesday, including cornerback Denzel Burke, linebacker Tommy Eichenberg and defensive end J.T. Tuimoloau.

Eichenberg led Ohio State’s defense with 80 tackles this season, while Burke registered a team-high nine pass breakups and Tuimoloau led the defense with four sacks, and had six tackles for loss. Eichenberg and Tuimoloau were first-team honorees last season, while Burke is the first Ohio State cornerback to be named to the first team since Shaun Wade in 2020.

In addition to that trio, three other Buckeyes earned second-team All-Big Ten honors, including defensive linemen Jack Sawyer and Tyleik Williams, as well as kicker Jayden Fielding.

Williams registered a team-high 10 tackles for loss this season and added three sacks, five pass breakups and with fourth on the team with 50 tackles and Sawyer had seven tackles for loss and 3.5 sacks while forcing two fumbles. Fielding, meanwhile, was 15 of 18 on field goals this season with a long of 47 yards, and was 49 of 50 on extra points.

Defensive tackle Mike Hall Jr., linebacker Steele Chambers and safety Josh Proctor were named third-team All-Big Ten, while cornerback Davison Igbinosun, defensive tackle Ty Hamilton and safeties Lathan Ransom and Sonny Styles were honorable mention All-Big Ten.

image_pdfClick for PDFimage_printClick to Print