Pair Of Former Buckeyes Pick Up NFL Honors

By February 10, 2023 (10:44 am)Football

Ohio State was well-represented at the 12th annual NFL Honors ceremony, as a pair of former Buckeyes were awarded for their strong play during the 2022 NFL season.

Former Ohio State defensive end Nick Bosa, now with the San Francisco 49ers was named the Defensive Player of the Year, while New York Jets wide receiver Garrett Wilson — who played for the Buckeyes from 2019-21 — picked up the Offensive Rookie of the Year honor.

Bosa led the NFL in sacks with 18.5, surpassing his previous career-high of 15.5, while helping the 49ers finish with the top-ranked defense this season. Bosa added 51 tackles and two forced fumbles to his resume. He beat out Dallas Cowboys linebacker Micah Parsons — who played his college career at Penn State — and Kansas City Chiefs defensive tackle Chris Jones.

It took no time for Wilson to get acclimated to the NFL as he racked up 83 receptions for 1,103 receiving, the most by a rookie in Jets history, while adding four touchdowns despite playing with several different quarterbacks as the season progressed. Wilson beat out Seattle Seahawks running back Kenneth Walker III — a former Michigan State Spartan — and 49ers quarterback Brock Purdy for the award.

image_pdfClick for PDFimage_printClick to Print