Ohio State Women’s Tennis Wins Big Ten Awards

By May 14, 2019 (11:03 am)Sports

Despite being eliminated from the NCAA Tournament, the Ohio State women’s tennis team had members win conference awards for their excellence on the court during the spring.

Freshman Isabelle Boulais earned 2019 co-Big Ten Freshman of the Year, and joined redshirt sophomore Shiori Fukuda on the All-Big Ten Team.

Boulais became the fifth Buckeye to be named Big Ten Freshman of the Year, and the fourth in the last six years, joining Fukuda (2018), Francesca Di Lorenzo (2016) and Gabriella DeSantis (2014).

Fukuda earned her second All-Big Ten selection, becoming the fifth from Ohio State to win first-team honors as both a freshman and sophomore. Both Boulais and Fukuda were unanimous selections to the All-Big Ten team.

Boulais, a Mississauga, Ontario, native, was selected for the NCAA singles championship, ranked No. 56 in singles by the ITA. She sports a 15-8 record in dual matches with a 9-6 record on court one. Overall, she is 16-13 on the season. In doubles, Boulais is 15-7 in dual matches and 18-10 overall.

A native of Tokyo, Japan, Fukuda, posted a 18-7 singles dual record and 24-12 overall record. The No. 110-ranked player by ITA, she was 5-4 on court one and 9-2 on court two, with an 8-3 record in Big Ten matches. Fukuda finished 20-14 in doubles overall, ranked No. 40 with Boulais as a duo.

Additionally, sophomore Luna Dormet received the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award for Ohio State. Dormet, a Tours, France, native, concluded her first season as a Buckeye with 17-5 ledger in dual play, leading the team with 28 overall wins to just seven losses. Her 24 overall doubles wins, ranked second on the squad.

Boulais, Fukuda and Dormet all earned OSU Scholar-Athlete honors in addition to their athletic success.

While the team’s season came to an end, Boulais will compete in the NCAA singles championship May 20-25 at the USTA National Campus in Orlando, Fla.

Boulais became the fifth Buckeye to earn a spot in the NCAA singles tournament, joining Anna Sanford (2018), Di Lorenzo (2016, ’17), Monica Rincon (2002) and Kristy Dascoli (1998, ’99, ’00, ’01). She was just the third in program history to be selected for the singles championship as a freshman, joining Di Lorenzo and Dascoli.


image_pdfClick for PDFimage_printClick to Print