Skip to main content

Buckeyes Abound On NFL Playoff Rosters

By January 12, 2024 (12:26 pm)Football

Ohio State will be well-represented when the NFL playoffs begin on Saturday, as 25 former Buckeyes are represented on 11 teams participating in the postseason.

The Cleveland Browns lead the way with five former Buckeyes, including safeties Ronnie Hickman and Tanner McCalister, cornerback Denzel Ward and offensive linemen Luke Wypler and Dawand Jones, the latter on injured reserve since suffering a late-season injury.

The Browns will face off Saturday at 4:30 p.m. on NBC against the Houston Texans, whose roster features quarterback C.J. Stroud – who led the Texans to a surprising playoff berth after being taken second overall in last year’s draft – as well as wide receiver Noah Brown and punter Cameron Johnston. The next game on Saturday – set for an 8:15 p.m. kickoff on Peacock – features the Miami Dolphins at the Kansas City Chiefs, with cornerback Eli Apple and linebacker Jerome Baker – who is on injured reserve – representing Ohio State for the Dolphins.

The first game on Sunday will feature the Pittsburgh Steelers at the Buffalo Bills at 1 p.m. on CBS, with the only former Buckeye in that matchup being Steelers defensive lineman Cam Hayward.

The Dallas Cowboys and Detroit Lions each have three former Buckeyes on their rosters. Defensive tackle Jonathan Hankins, safety Malik Hooker and offensive lineman Billy Price will suit up for the Cowboys against the Packers (offensive linemen Michael Jordan and Josh Myers) on Sunday at 4:30 on FOX, while the Lions – with offensive linemen Taylor Decker and Noah Jackson, as well as longsnapper Jake McQuaide – will face safety Jordan Fuller and the Los Angeles Rams on Sunday at 8:15 on NBC.

Monday Night Football will see the Philadelphia Eagles and cornerback Bradley Roby travel to the Tampa Bay Buccaneers for an 8:15 p.m. kickoff on ESPN. Other Buckeyes in the playoffs include linebacker Malik Harrison and running back JK Dobbins – who is on the injured reserve – for the Baltimore Ravens and defensive linemen Nick Bosa and Chase Young for the San Francisco 49ers, with both teams holding a first-round bye in the playoffs.

image_pdfClick for PDFimage_printClick to Print