Stroud, Henderson, Smith-Njigba Earn Big Ten Preseason Honors



The Big Ten announced the conference's football preseason honors on Monday, and three Ohio State players – quarterback C.J. Stroud, running back TreVeyon Henderson and wide receiver Jaxon Smith-Njigba – were included among the honorees.

Along with the three Ohio State players, Michigan running back Blake Corum and Michigan State wide receiver Jayden Reed were honored in the East Division.

Honorees for the West Division included Wisconsin running back Braylon Allen and linebacker Nick Herbig, Iowa linebacker Jack Campbell, Northwestern offensive tackle Peter Skoronski and Purdue quarterback Aidan O'Connell.

Stroud - who was the only unanimous selection on the list - earned several honors within the conference last season, including being named Big Ten Graham-George Offensive Player of the Year, Thompson-Randle El Freshman of the Year and Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year. He was also a first-team All-Big Ten selection.

Stroud and Smith-Njigba – as well as safety Ronnie Hickman – will represent Ohio State at Big Ten Media Days this week. Big Ten commissioner Kevin Warren and teams from the West Division will speak on Tuesday, with East Division teams up on Wednesday.