Ohio State Defensive End Chase Young Wins Ted Hendricks Award

By December 11, 2019 (3:07 pm)Football

Ohio State defensive end Chase Young continues to rack up postseason awards, as he was named the 2019 recipient of the Ted Hendricks Award, which goes to the nation’s top player at his position.

Young, who becomes the first player in program history to win the award, received more than 90 percent of the votes by the selection committee, the largest percentage in its 18-year history.

Young’s postseason accolades also include the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year, Big Ten Defensive Lineman of the Year, Chicago Tribune’s Silver Football and Bronko Nagurski Trophy, in addition to being a finalist for the Heisman Trophy, Maxwell Award and Chuck Bednarik Award.

A 6-6, 285-pound junior, Young has recorded 44 tackles, 21 tackles for loss, 16.5 sacks, six forced fumbles, three pass break ups and one blocked field goal in 11 games this season, leading the Buckeyes to a Big Ten title and a berth in the College Football Playoff, where they’ll take on Clemson in the PlayStation Fiesta Bowl on Dec. 28 (8 p.m. on ESPN).

Other finalists for the award included Baylor’s James Lynch, Boise State’s Curtis Weaver, Penn State’s Yetur Gross-Matos and Utah’s Bradlee Anae.

image_pdfClick for PDFimage_printClick to Print