New Buckeyes Receive Jersey Numbers, Returning Players Have Numbers Updated

By March 5, 2024 (9:48 am)Football

Ohio State opened spring practice on Tuesday, and with that comes an updated roster that features numbers for new Buckeyes as well as updated numbers for those already on the roster.

Beginning with the incoming transfers, running back Quinshon Judkins will wear No. 1; safety Caleb Downs will wear No. 2; quarterback Will Howard will wear No. 19; center Seth McLaughlin will wear No. 56; and tight end Will Kacmarek will wear No. 89.

Additionally, two transfer walk-ons got their numbers, including punter Hadi Jawad, formerly of Wayne State, and former Michigan linebacker Joey Velazquez, who will both wear No. 39.

All of the Buckeyes’ early enrollees also received their numbers. Starting from the lowest number, wide receiver Jeremiah Smith is No. 4; cornerback Aaron Scott Jr. is No. 5; quarterback Julian Sayin is No. 10; quarterback Air Nolan is No. 12; cornerback Bryce West is No. 12; cornerback Miles Lockhart is No. 13; safety Jaylen McClain is No. 18; running back James Peoples is No. 20; linebacker Garrett Stover is No. 23; running back Sam Williams-Dixon is No. 24; linebacker Payton Pierce is No. 35; offensive linemen Ian Moore, Deontae Armstrong and Devontae Armstrong are Nos. 69, 72 and 73, respectively; defensive lineman Eric Mensah is No. 90; and defensive end Eddrick Houston is No. 96.

Five returning Buckeyes also received new jersey numbers. Quarterback Lincoln Kienholz is switching from No. 11 to No. 3; safety Ja’Had Carter is now No. 3 instead of No. 14; wide receiver Bryson Rodgers switched from No. 86 to No. 13; cornerback Calvin Simpson-Hunt swapped No. 15 for No. 22; and defensive lineman Kayden McDonald handed in No. 56 for No. 98.

The full roster can be viewed below:

image_pdfClick for PDFimage_printClick to Print