Skip to main content

Former Ohio State Defensive End Chase Young Wins Defensive Rookie Of The Year

By February 7, 2021 (10:00 am)Football

Former Ohio State and current Washington Football Team defensive end Chase Young was named the Associated Press NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year at the NFL Awards show on Saturday.

Young finished his rookie year with 44 tackles (32 solo), 12 quarterback hits, 10 tackles for loss and 7 1/2 sacks in 15 games played. He also had four passes defended, four forced fumbles and three fumble recoveries.

With the honor, Young becomes the fourth former Ohio State player in five seasons to win defensive rookie of the year, joining Joey Bosa in 2016, Marshon Lattimore in 2017 and Nick Bosa in 2019.

Young was selected second overall in the 2020 NFL Draft, behind only LSU quarterback and former Buckeye Joe Burrow, who went to the Cincinnati Bengals.

In 2019, Young won the Chuck Bednarik and the Nagurski-Wooden awards for the best defensive player in college football. As a junior, Young finished with 21 TFL and 16 1/2 sacks in just 12 games played.

For four free issues of the print edition of Buckeye Sports Bulletin, no card required, sign up at the link here:

image_pdfClick for PDFimage_printClick to Print