Eight Buckeyes Earn AP All-American Honors

By December 13, 2021 (1:14 pm)Football

Eight Ohio State football players earned Associated Press All-American honors for the 2021-22 season.

Wide receivers Chris Olave and Garrett Wilson, offensive linemen Nicholas Petit-Frere and Thayer Munford, defensive tackle Haskell Garrett and kicker Noah Ruggles claimed spots on the second team. In contrast, quarterback C.J. Stroud and slot receiver Jaxon Smith-Njigba earned third-team honors.

The Buckeyes’ eight selections were the most of any program. Olave, Wilson and Smith-Njigba helped Ohio State become the first school to have three wide receivers on the AP All-American teams.

In addition, Wilson and Petit-Frere were named first-team All-Americans by the Football Writers Association of America, and Ruggles was named a first-team All-American by ESPN.

image_pdfClick for PDFimage_printClick to Print