Celeste Taylor Named Big Ten Defensive Player Of The Year By Coaches, Among Five Buckeyes Named To All-Conference Teams

By March 5, 2024 (12:13 pm)Basketball

Ohio State received several recognitions on Tuesday from the Big Ten’s head coaches and media, as fifth-year guard Celeste Taylor was named Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year by the coaches and was one of five Buckeyes named to all-conference teams.

Taylor – also a second-team All-Big Ten selection by the coaches and media, as well as a unanimous member of the five-person All-Defensive Team – is averaging 10.3 points, 4.2 rebounds, 3.3 assists and 2.2 steals per game this season. She is helping the Buckeyes hold the opposition to just 63.2 points per game, the best mark in the conference.

She is the fourth individual winner of Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year from Ohio State, joining Kim Wilburn (2005-06), Shavelle Little (2007-08 and 2008-09) and Amber Stokes (2011-12).

Taylor is joined on the all-conference teams by fellow guard Jacy Sheldon, who was a unanimous first-team selection by the coaches and also selected first-team by the media, though it was not unanimous. The media also voted Sheldon as a member of the All-Defensive Team. Through the end of the regular season, Sheldon was averaging a team-high 18.2 points per game as well as 3.8 assists, 3.3 rebounds and 2.1 steals on 51.3 percent shooting.

Sophomore forward Cotie McMahon was the other first-team Buckeye, voted as such by the coaches and media after averaging 14.1 points and 6.4 rebounds through the regular season. Junior guard Taylor Thierry, meanwhile, was a second-team selection by the coaches and media, while fifth-year Forward Rebeka Mikulášiková was an honorable mention by the media.

In addition to being named first-team All-Big Ten for the second consecutive year, Sheldon was also the winner of Ohio State’s Sportsmanship Award, which is given to one player on each team. Ohio State head coach Kevin McGuff was also named Big Ten Coach of the Year, adding to an extensive list of accolades for the Buckeyes.

image_pdfClick for PDFimage_printClick to Print