## Ohio State's Justin Fields, Chase Young Finish 3rd, 4th In Heisman Trophy Voting



LSU quarterback Joe Burrow was named the 2019 Heisman Trophy winner on Saturday night, while Ohio State quarterback Justin Fields and defensive end Chase Young finished third and fourth, respectively.

Oklahoma quarterback Jalen Hurts finished second, meanwhile.

Burrow, who played for Ohio State from 2015-17 before pursuing a graduate transfer after losing the quarterback battle to Dwayne Haskins, threw for 4,715 yards and a nation-leading 48 touchdowns to lead the Tigers to the No. 1 overall seed in the College Football Playoff this fall. He becomes the second player in program history to win the award, joining running back Billy Cannon in 1958.

Fields was the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year after he completed 208 of 308 passes for 2,953 yards and 40 touchdowns compared to just one interception and rushed for 471 yards and 10 more scores while leading the Buckeyes to the Big Ten Championship and No. 2 seed in the College Football Playoff this season. This marks the second consecutive season in which the Buckeyes had a quarterback finish third in the Heisman voting, joining the aforementioned Haskins in 2018.

In addition to being named the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year, Young — who recorded 44 tackles, 21 tackles for loss, 16.5 sacks and six forced fumbles in just 11 games this season — won the Chicago Tribune Silver Football, Chuck Bednarik, Ted Hendricks and Bronko Nagurski awards this fall.

Though Ohio State, Oklahoma and Notre Dane are tied for the national lead with seven Heisman trophies apiece, the Buckeyes have not produced a winner since quarterback Troy Smith in 2006.