## Wilson, Bosa Named NFL Award Finalists



The NFL released its finalists for its 2022 end-of-season awards Wednesday, and two former Buckeyes made the list.

San Francisco 49ers defensive end Nick Bosa is one of three finalists for AP Defensive Player of the Year, while New York Jets wide receiver Garrett Wilson is one of three finalists for AP Offensive Rookie of the Year.

Bosa posted an NFL-leading 18.5 sacks for the 49ers in 2022, adding 19 tackles for loss and 51 tackles total. San Francisco has reached the NFC Championship Game in part because of his efforts and that of its defense, though the playoffs are not taken into consideration for the NFL's awards. Joining him as finalists for DPOY are Dallas Cowboys outside linebacker Micah Parsons and Kansas City Chiefs defensive tackle Chris Jones.

Wilson caught fire with an eight-reception, 102-yard, two-touchdown performance in a comeback win against Cleveland Browns in week two and hardly looked back. He finished with 83 receptions for 1,103 yards and four touchdowns on the season, though it should be noted he faces some stiff competition from Seattle Seahawks running back Kenneth Walker for ROY. Walker rushed for 1,050 yards and nine touchdowns at a clip of 4.6 yards per carry, adding 165 receiving yards.

Former Ohio State teammate and current New Orleans Saints wide receiver Chris Olave did not make the cut as a finalist, despite catching 72 balls for 1,040 yards and four touchdowns in 2022. The last spot instead went to San Francisco quarterback Brock Purdy, the last pick in the 2022 NFL Draft.

Purdy started the season as the third-string quarterback for the 49ers but injuries to both signal callers in front of him forced him into action in week 13. He proceeded to lead the team on a six-game winning streak to end the year, which has since extended to eight games in the playoffs. In total he completed 67.1 percent of his passes for 1,374 yards and 13 touchdowns against just four interceptions.

Cincinnati Bengals quarterback Joe Burrow, who spent three seasons and earned his degree as a backup at Ohio State before transferring to LSU where he won a Heisman Trophy and national championship in 2019, was one of five finalists for AP Most Valuable Player.

The winners will be announced during The NFL Honors Ceremony, which is set for Feb. 9 at 9 p.m. on NBC.