Stroud Not Among Finalists For Walter Camp Player Of The Year Award



Ohio State quarterback C.J. Stroud will not be the 2021 Walter Camp Player of the Year, but not all is lost for the redshirt freshman signal-caller.

The Walter Camp Football Foundation announced its five finalists for its annual award on Thursday afternoon, and Stroud's name did not appear on the list. Instead, the foundation announced Georgia defensive tackle Jordan Davis, Michigan defensive end Aidan Hutchinson, Pittsburgh quarterback Kenny Pickett, Michigan State running back Kenneth Walker III and Alabama quarterback Bryce Young as the five players eligible to receive the honor.

Stroud also missed an opportunity to bring home The Maxwell Award — an honor similar to the Heisman, given to college football's best player. The award's finalists are Pickett, Walker and Young, who were selected before the final week of the regular season.

Still, Stroud is a finalist for the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award with Pickett and Young. He could also receive an invitation to the Heisman Trophy ceremony at the Downtown Athletic Center in New York City.

Should Stroud win one or both of the awards, he would collect another accolade to an already decorated first season as the Ohio State quarterback. On Dec. 1, he won Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year, Big Ten Quarterback of the Year and Big Ten Freshman of the Year, becoming the first player ever to win all three awards in the same season.