Staff Predictions: Conference Champs, College Football Playoff and Heisman Trophy



In the recent Football Preview issue of Buckeye Sports Bulletin, our staff compiled our predictions for the Big Ten Conference, including team records, award winners and division champions.

We decided to take a crack at predicting the conference champions from each FBS conference, as well as who we expect to win the Heisman Trophy, which teams will make it to the College Football Playoff and who will be crowned national champions.

There is quite a bit of variety in the selections from our staff, which means some (or all) of us will be wrong, which is always fun.

WYATT CROSHER, BSB

Big Ten East: Ohio State

Big Ten West: Northwestern

Big Ten Champion: Ohio State

AAC: Memphis

ACC: Clemson

Big 12: Texas

Conference USA: North Texas

MAC: Ohio

Mountain West: Boise State

Pac-12: Oregon

SEC: Alabama (but with a loss)

Sun Belt: Appalachian State

Heisman Trophy: Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama

College Football Playoff:

Clemson (13-0)

Alabama (12-1)

Ohio State (12-1)

Texas (12-1)

National Champion: Clemson over Alabama

JOE DEMPSEY, BSB

ACC: Clemson

AAC: UCF

PAC-12: Washington

Big Ten: Ohio State

Big 12: Oklahoma

MAC: Toledo

Mountain West: Fresno State

C-USA: Southern Miss

Sun Belt: Appalachian State

Heisman Trophy:

Winner: Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama

Trevor Lawrence, Clemson

Jalen Hurts, Oklahoma

Justin Fields, Ohio State

College Football Playoff:

No. 1 Clemson defeats No. 4 Oklahoma

No. 2 Alabama defeats No. 3 Ohio State

No. 1 Clemson defeats No. 2 Alabama

National Champion: Clemson

ANDREW LIND, BSB

ACC: Clemson over Virginia

American: Memphis over UCF

B1G: Ohio State over Purdue

Big XII: Oklahoma over Texas

C-USA: North Texas over Marshall

MAC: Ohio over Western Michigan

Mountain West: Utah State over Hawaii

Pac-12: Utah over Washington

SEC: Georgia over Alabama

Sun Belt: Appalachian State over Arkansas State

Heisman Trophy: Trevor Lawrence, Clemson

College Football Playoff:

Ohio State over Georgia (Fiesta Bowl)

Clemson over Oklahoma (Peach Bowl),

Clemson over Ohio State (national championship)

National Champion: Clemson

PATRICK MAYHORN, BSB

ACC: Clemson

Big Ten: Ohio State

Big 12: Oklahoma

Pac-12: Utah

SEC: Alabama

AAC: UCF

C-USA: North Texas

MAC: Ohio

MWC: Fresno State

SBC: Appalachian State

Heisman: Trophy: Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama

College Football Playoff:

Clemson defeats Oklahoma

Alabama defeats Utah

Clemson defeats Alabama

National Champion: Clemson

[divider line_type="Full Width Line" line_thickness="2" divider_color="default"][nectar_btn size="jumbo" button_style="regular" button_color_2="Accent-Color" icon_family="none" url="http://www.buckeyesports.com/boards/" text="Join The Conversation"]