Several Buckeyes Pick Up Defensive And Special Teams All-Big Ten Honors



As Ohio State saw improved play from its defense for much of the season, several Buckeyes were named to All-Big Ten teams on Tuesday.

Linebacker Tommy Eichenberg, who was also named a finalist for the Lott IMPACT Award, was named first-team all-conference by both the coaches and media. Eichenberg led the Buckeyes with 112 tackles, 12 tackles for loss, 2 1/2 sacks and an interception returned for a touchdown. Defensive ends J.T. Tuimoloau and Zach Harrison also received first-team honors, as Tuimoloau was elected by the conference's coaches while Harrison earned the nod from the media. Tuimoloau totaled 28 tackles (10 1/2 for loss) to go along with his 3 1/2 sacks and two interceptions while Harrison produced 30 tackles (6 1/2 for loss) and three sacks.

Defensive tackle Mike Hall and safety Ronnie Hickman both appeared on the All-Big Ten third team, as Hall received the nod from the media while Hickman picked up honors from both parties. Hall was a pass-rushing wrecker for the Buckeyes, who made several dynamic plays despite seeing the field sparingly compared to his defensive tackle counterparts. Hall produced 4 1/2 sacks and 7 1/2 tackles for loss within the OSU defensive line rotation. Taking over the "adjuster" position for the Buckeyes, Hickman shined — racking up 51 tackles (1 1/2 for loss), an interception and six pass breakups.

Cornerback Denzel Burke, defensive linemen Jack Sawyer and Tyliek Williams, safeties Lathan Ransom and Tanner McCalister and linebacker Steele Chambers were named All-Big Ten Honorable Mentions.

Moving on to special teams, kicker Noah Ruggles was named to the All-Big Ten Third-Team while punter Jesse Mirco was tabbed an honorable mention. Ruggles hit 15 of his 17 field goal attempts while knocking down 69 of 70 extra points — with the lone miss coming on a blocked attempt against Maryland.