Ohio State's Rhiann Travis Becomes 3rd Buckeye Three-Time All-American



Rhiann Travis, a senior on the Ohio State rifle team, earned NRA All-America honors for the third time in her career.

Travis, who received honorable mention in air rifle, became the third Buckeye to win All-America honors thrice.

An excellent student as well, Travis was also joined by seven teammates on the list for Scholastic All-Americans by the College Rifle Coaches Association (CRCA).

Ohio State's Scholastic All-Americans include Jacob Buchanan, Ariel Hall, Mica Harr, Joel Potts, Annabelle Stanec, Annie Tomb, Travis, and Megan Wilcoxson.

"A huge congratulations goes out to Rhiann and our eight Scholastic All-Americans," head coach Ryan Tanoue said. "Being recognized as an All-American is something very special and for Rhiann to be honored for the third time in her career is a truly fantastic accomplishment.

"Additionally for eight members of our team to be named Scholastic All-Americans is a great reward for our team's hard work in the classroom. I am very proud of the effort our team has put in on and off the range this season."

Travis won second-team All-America laurels as both a freshman and sophomore. To earn All-America honors as a senior, she averaged a team-best 590.1 in air rifle.

The Springtown, Texas native guided the Buckeyes to victory against then-No. 5 Air Force when she fired a 595 on Jan. 25. The epitome of consistency, she posted a 'counting' score in every single competition this season, in both air rifle and smallbore.

A four-year standout, Travis, set the school record in the air rifle as a freshman with a 598 at the NCAA Oualifier.

Tanoue has mentored six different All-Americans to a total of 11 recognitions in eight seasons at the helm of the Ohio State rifle program. The Buckeyes have accumulated 27 All-America honors by 19 different Buckeyes.

Four Buckeyes in program history have garnered multiple All-America accolades. Travis (2017-18, 2020) joins the exclusive list featuring Drew Cheezum (2016-18), Remington Lyman (2014, 2016), and the only four-time winner George Martin (1947-50).

For four free issues of the weekly print edition of Buckeye Sports Bulletin, no card required, sign up at the link here: http://www.buckeyesports.com/subscribe-4issue-trial/

[divider line_type="Full Width Line" line_thickness="2" divider_color="default"][nectar_btn size="jumbo" button_style="regular" button_color_2="Accent-Color" icon_family="none" url="http://www.buckeyesports.com/boards/" text="Join The Conversation"]