Ohio State’s Bia Franklin, Luke Pletcher Win Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Awards

Luke Pletcher of the Ohio State wrestling team and Bia Franklin of the women’s volleyball team both won the Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award.

Courtesy of Ohio State athletics.

Members of every team at each Big Ten school were selected by their institutions as Sportsmanship Award honorees, with two Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners at each school. 

Each of the Sportsmanship Award winners have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. The honorees must also be in good academic standing and must have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

Franklin thrived as a leader for Buckeye volleyball, serving as a member of the women’s volleyball team’s leadership committee for three years because of her innate abilities on and off the court. The Rio De Janeiro, Brazil, native gave guidance to her younger teammates as well as leading by example. 

An excellent student, Franklin, strived for success in the classroom, earning Academic All-Big Ten selections and Ohio State Scholar-Athlete honors every year she was eligible. Franklin represented Ohio State as a Bucks Go Pro and Huntington Bucks Go Pro 2.0 intern during her last two summers in Columbus. She began as an intern for the James Outreach and Network Development department in 2018 before interning with Pelotonia in their social media and marketing department in 2019. 

Applying what she learned, Franklin combined her passions for healthcare and marketing to lead the women’s volleyball team’s annual pink match, which raises money for breast cancer survivors.

Pletcher won the Big Ten title at 141 pounds as a senior, concluding a decorated career with multiple All-American accolades. He held the No. 1 seed and boasted a 26-1 season record entering the 2020 NCAA Championships before the event was canceled due to COVID-19.

The Latrobe, Pa., native concluded his Buckeye career with a 108-21 overall record, including 23 major decisions, eight pins and five tech falls. 

Thriving off the mat as well, Pletcher earned many accolades for his academic prowess. He earned the honors of NWCA Scholar All-American, Academic All-Big Ten and Ohio State Scholar-Athlete each year he was eligible for each award. 

Courtesy of Ohio State athletics.

Courtesy of Ohio State athletics.

What follows is each Big Ten Sportsmanship Award winner from Ohio State for 2019-20.

Ohio State 2019-20 Big Ten Sportsmanship Award Winners

Men’s Cross Country

Giovanni Copploe

Women’s Cross Country

Allison Gaugenti


Justin Hilliard

Men’s Soccer

Parker Siegfried

Women’s Soccer

Bailey Kolinski

Field Hockey

Jennica Jonovich


Bia Franklin

Men’s Gymnastics

Robert Costea

Women’s Gymnastics

Olivia Aepli

Men’s Basketball

Danny Hummer

Women’s Basketball

Jacy Sheldon

Men’s Indoor Track & Field

Robbie Oswald

Women’s Indoor Track & Field

Alexus Pyles

Men’s Swimming & Diving

Jacob Siler

Women’ Swimming & Diving

Laura Banks

Men’s Tennis

JJ Mercer

Women’s Tennis

Kolie Allen

Men’s Golf

Justin Wick

Women’s Golf

Adeena Shears

Men’s Hockey

Gordi Myer


Luke Pletcher

Men’s Fencing

Domenik Koch

Men’s Pistol

Robbie Delagrange

Men’s Rifle

Jacob Buchanan

Women’s Fencing

Gabriella Cecchini

Women’s Ice Hockey

Jincy Dunne

Women’s Pistol

Emily Nothnagle

Women’s Rifle

Rhiann Travis

Synchronized Swimming

Kaitlyn Carboun

For four free issues of the now-monthly print edition of Buckeye Sports Bulletin, no card required, sign up at the link here: http://www.buckeyesports.com/subscribe-4issue-trial/

[divider line_type=”Full Width Line” line_thickness=”2″ divider_color=”default”][nectar_btn size=”jumbo” button_style=”regular” button_color_2=”Accent-Color” icon_family=”none” url=”http://www.buckeyesports.com/boards/” text=”Join The Conversation”]