Ohio State To Honor 21 Buckeyes On Senior Day Against Minnesota



Ohio State is expecting to see 21 players participate in Senior Day festivities on Saturday against Minnesota, which is the team's final home game of the season.

Among the honorees are seven starters for the Buckeyes – including linebackers Steele Chambers and Tommy Eichenberg, wide receiver Julian Fleming, safeties Lathan Ransom and Josh Proctor, offensive lineman Matthew Jones and tight end Cade Stover – as well as team captain Xavier Johnson, who has played in 53 career games, the most on Ohio State's roster.

The group of fifth-year seniors that make up the majority of the honorees have won two Big Ten Championship Games, have made three appearances in the College Football Playoff and have a 52-6 record entering Saturday.

Johnson, Jones and Proctor – as well as seventh-year quarterback Tristan Gebbia – will all have exhausted their eligibility following this season, but the remaining seniors that will walk all have the option of returning for at least one season granted by the NCAA due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

"If they're eligible, then we certainly allow them the option to do it and then go from there," head coach Ryan Day said. "It's a lot different than it was a decade ago."

Here is the full list of seniors that will participate in Senior Day:

- K Parker Lewis
- QB Tristan Gebbia
- OL Jack Forsman
- OL Grant Toutant
- QB Chad Ray
- DB Andrew Moore
- OL Quinton Burke
- DB Cameron Kittle
- OL Trey Leroux
- TE Patrick Gurd
- DL Jaden McKenzie
- RB Miyan Williams

- LB Cody Simon
- LB Steele Chambers
- WR Julian Fleming
- SAF Lathan Ransom
- SAF Josh Proctor
- OL Matthew Jones
- WR Xavier Johnson
- TE Cade Stover
- LB Tommy Eichenberg

Ohio State players on the roster listed as seniors that are not participating in Senior Day include defensive end Mitchell Melton, defensive tackle Ty Hamilton, offensive linemen Victor Cutler Jr., Josh Fryar, Jakob James and Enokk Vimahi, running back Chip Trayanum, safeties Cameron Martinez and Ja'Had Carter and tight ends Gee Scott Jr. and Joe Royer, indicating all will return next season.