Ohio State Offensive Line Named Finalist For Joe Moore Award



Ohio State's entire offensive line on Tuesday afternoon was named a finalist for the Joe Moore Award alongside Alabama, LSU and Oregon.

The Joe Moore Award for the Most Outstanding Offensive Line Unit in College Football today revealed the selection of four finalists for this year's national honor (alphabetical order) #13 @AlabamaFTBL, #1 @LSUfootball, #2 @OhioStateFB, #6 @oregonfootballhttps://t.co/XeoSkOYK6h

— The Joe Moore Award (@JoeMooreAward) December 10, 2019

The award, which honors college football's best offensive line, is named after the long-time Notre Dame and Pittsburgh offensive line coach Joe Moore. It is the only major football award that honors a group of players.

Ohio State's starting five of left tackle Thayer Munford, left guard Jonah Jackson, center Josh Myers, right guard Wyatt Davis and right tackle Branden Bowen have helped the Buckeyes to 272.2 rushing yards per game and 5.67 yards per carry, good for fifth and sixth in the country, respectively.

"Ohio State has always had talented players up front, but this year that talent was matched by a desire to bury their opponent on each and every play," an unnamed committee member said of the unit led by offensive line coach Greg Studrawa. "An incredibly athletic group who imposed its will while leading one of the nation's top rushing attacks."

Davis and Jackson were named first-team All-Big Ten, while Bowen, Meyers and Munford earned second-team All-Big Ten recognition after the unit combined for 339 total knockdowns in 13 games this season.

"This group excels at run blocking by creating movement and working well together, up to the second

level," another unnamed committee member said. "(They) look like angry dancing bears at times in their stretch game. Their physicality shines in the varied run schemes that include everything from midline read option to traditional stretch and split zone. Do a nice job of running off the ball and have very good contact power on one on one base blocks. No hesitation and play with heavy, solid, deliberate feet."

The award's 200-member voting committee — which is comprised of Football Bowl Subdivision offensive line coaches; former players, coaches and colleagues of Moore's; and select media members — will announce the recipient in mid-to-late December with a surprise visit to the winning school's campus.