2021 Ohio State Five-Star Quarterback Signee Kyle McCord Wins Jim Henry Award



Ohio State five-star quarterback signee Kyle McCord was recently named the recipient of the 2020 Jim Henry Award, which is presented annually by the Maxwell Football Club to a senior from Delaware, New Jersey or Pennsylvania that portrays a unique balance of football prowess, academic excellence and dedicated community service.

The @MaxwellFootball Club has announced St. Joseph's Prep QB Kyle McCord has been awarded 2020 Jim Henry Award, given to the senior football player form Delaware, New Jersey, or PA that portrays balance of football prowess, academic excellence, and dedicated community service.

- Kevin McGuire (@KevinOnCFB) February 1, 2021

"(McCord) faced numerous challenges both on and off the field and he consistently rose to meet those challenges," Maxwell Football Club president Mark Dianno said in a statement. "He is a sterling example of the hard work, dedication and service that have become the hallmarks of Jim Henry Award winners."

The 6-3 and 215-pound McCord, who is considered the third-best pro-style quarterback and No. 27 prospect overall in the class of 2021, threw for 6,887 yards and 88 passing touchdowns to lead the Philadelphia St. Joseph's Prep to three straight state titles, both of which set city records. He committed to the Buckeyes in April 2019 over nearly 20 offers from programs such as Boston College, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Penn State, Pittsburgh, Rutgers, Syracuse, Texas A&M, Virginia Tech and West Virginia.

"The winner of the Jim Henry Award is always an excellent football player but must also set himself apart in the classroom and in the community at large," Dianno said. "Despite the many obstacles posed by the pandemic, Kyle elevated his academic performance and served several different communities in need. Kyle has indeed distinguished himself, his family, his school, his coaches and his program and is a

well-deserved winner of the award."

Recent recipients of the Jim Henry Award include Clemson linebacker Keith Maguire in 2019, Notre Dame safety Shayne Simon in 2018 and former Wisconsin running back Jonathan Taylor in 2017.

For four free issues of the print edition of Buckeye Sports Bulletin, no card required, sign up at the link here: http://www.buckeyesports.com/subscribe-4issue-trial/