Ohio State Defensive End Chase Young Wins Bronko Nagurski Trophy



In addition to being named a finalist for the 2019 Heisman Trophy on Monday night, Ohio State defensive end Chase Young won the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, which is given annually to the nation's top defensive player as voted on by the Football Writers Association of America.

.@NagurskiTrophy goes to..... pic.twitter.com/kyzKscX4Ez

- Football Writers Association of America (@TheFWAA) December 10, 2019

The 6-6, 285-pound Young — who has also been named the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year and winner of the Chicago Tribune's Silver Football this season — becomes just the second player in program history to win the award, joining linebacker James Laurinaitis in 2006.

"I think he embodies everything on and off the field what this award embraces," said Ohio State head coach Ryan Day, who served as the keynote speaker for the banquet held in Charlotte, North Carolina. "In college football, not many people dominated play the way Chase has this year."

Young has recorded 44 tackles, 21 tackles for loss, 16.5 sacks, six forced fumbles, three pass break ups and one blocked field goal in 11 games this season, leading the Buckeyes to a berth in the College Football Playoff, where they'll take on Clemson in the PlayStation Fiesta Bowl on Dec. 28 (8 p.m. on ESPN).

"It's such an honor to come in here and see all of the great players that have won this award and have a chance to put my name in that category with some of the all-time great college football players," Young said. "It's definitely amazing."

Other finalists for the award included Auburn defensive tackle Derrick Brown, Clemson linebacker Isaiah Simmons, Georgia safety J.R. Reed and Minnesota defensive back Antoine Winfield Jr.