Ohio State Defensive End Chase Young Wins 2019 Silver Football



Ohio State junior defensive end Chase Young was named the winner of the 2019 Chicago Tribune Silver Football award.

Young is the sixth Buckeye to win the award in eight years and Ohio State winner No. 19 overall.

The nation's sack leader totaled 19 points with nine first-place votes and one second-place selection from the 14 Big Ten coaches, who could not vote for their own players.

Wisconsin's Jonathan Taylor finished second with 12 points, including three first-place votes. The Buckeyes' quarterback and running back followed Taylor, with Justin Fields receiving two first-place votes in third and J.K. Dobbins finishing fourth.

He is the first defensive player to win the award outright since Michigan's Charles Woodson in 1997. Michigan defensive end Brandon Graham shared the honor in 2009 with Penn State quarterback Daryll Clark.

The recent award winners from the Scarlet and Gray include Dwayne Haskins (2018), J.T. Barrett (2016), Ezekiel Elliott (2015), Braxton Miller (2012-13). Remarkably, Young is the first Buckeye defensive player to win.

Despite missing two games due to suspension, Young is first in the country with 16.5 sacks lead the nation. He is sixth in tackles for loss with 19.5 and his 1.95 TFL per game leads the country as well.

"It's hard to forecast this, because he is the best player in college football," former Ohio State coach Urban Meyer, who recruited Young, told the Tribune.

For four free issues of the weekly print edition of Buckeye Sports Bulletin, no card required, sign up at the link here: http://www.buckeyesports.com/subscribe-4issue-trial/

[divider line_type="Full Width Line" line_thickness="2" divider_color="default"][nectar_btn size="jumbo" button_style="regular" button_color_2="Accent-Color" icon_family="none" url="http://www.buckeyesports.com/boards/" text="Join The Conversation"]