## Men's Tennis: Head Coach Ty Tucker Wins 17th Big Ten Coach Of The Year Award, Six Buckeyes Recognized On All-Big Ten Teams



Ohio State men's tennis head coach Ty Tucker won the Big Ten Coach of the Year award for the 17<sup>th</sup> time in his career, announced by the conference on Thursday.

It comes in a season where the No. 1 Buckeyes went 27-1 with their only loss coming on March 10 to then-No.12 Texas. Ohio State was undefeated in the conference and is looking to lead his team to another Big Ten title when the tournament begins April 26 against Penn State at 10 a.m.

Ohio State won 11 matches against top-20 teams and won its 18<sup>th</sup> straight regular season conference title, going 9-0 in 2024 to extend its Big Ten winning streak to 34 matches, which has lasted four seasons.

It is his 25<sup>th</sup> season at Ohio State since he started in 1999 and he has turned the Buckeyes into one of the elite programs in the country that has competed for Big Ten and national titles consistently.

He has won the Big Ten tournament 14 times in his career, but the Buckeyes haven't been able to take home an NCAA championship in his 25 years as the head coach, though they were runners up in 2009, 2018 and 2023 and won the ITA Indoor Team Championships three times, taking the national title in 2014, 2019 and again this season.

Ohio State led all Big Ten teams this season with six All-Big Ten selections, four of them making first team appearances. Cannon Kingsley was named first-team for a record fifth straight season along with sophomore Jack Anthrop, fifth-year senior Justin Boulais and senior JJ Tracy while sophomore Alexander Bernard and fifth-year senior Robert Cash were both second-team all-conference. Sophomore Reece Yakubov was named a recipient of one of 10 sportsmanship awards the conference gave out.