Harrison Named Finalist For Biletnikoff Award

Ohio State wide receiver Marvin Harrison Jr. was named a finalist for Biletnikoff Award — which is given to the best receiver in college football — on Tuesday.

While the Buckeyes have been without star wideout Jaxon Smith-Njigba for much of the season, Harrison blossomed into one of the nation’s most dominant receivers. In just his second season in the program, Harrison became the eighth Buckeye all-time to surpass 1,000 receiving yards in a single season while producing 72 receptions of 1,157 yards and 12 touchdowns during the 2022 campaign.

Harrison’s 16.1 yards per reception rank first in the Big Ten, while he sits second in receiving yardage behind Purdue’s Charlie Jones. Harrison and Jones share the top spot for receiving touchdowns, as each player has corraled 12.

Harrison seeks to become just the second Buckeye to win the award, which is presented by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club, as Terry Glenn is the only Ohio State receiver to be honored with the Biletnikoff — winning the award in 1995.

Iowa State’s Xavier Hutchinson and Tennessee’s Jalin Hyatt were also named finalists alongside Harrison.

The Biletnikoff Award will be presented during ESPN’s College Football Award Show on Dec. 8 at 7 p.m.