DT Haskell Garrett Named Polynesian College Football Player of the Year

Ohio State super senior defensive tackle Haskell Garrett was named the Polynesian College Football Player of the Year on Dec. 22, the largest plaudits yet for the first-team All-Big Ten and AP second-team All-American honoree.

“We congratulate Haskell on an outstanding season,” Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Chairman Jesse Sapolu said in his release. “His accomplishments are a source of great pride for the Polynesian community.”

Garrett is the first Buckeye to win the award, which started back in 2014. He racked up a team-high 5 1/2 sacks on the season and seven TFL (tied for the most on the team) while helping to anchor a run defense that was largely dominant outside of Ohio State’s losses to Oregon and Michigan – when he was dealing with nagging injuries. Even with those defeats, the Buckeyes finished in the top 20 in rushing yards allowed per game with 118.5.

Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota, Notre Dame lineman Ronnie Staley, Colorado quarterback Sefo Liufau, Washington State defensive lineman Hercules Mata’afa, Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa, Oregon offensive lineman Penei Sewell and BYU quarterback Zach Wilson are the previous winners of the award from 2014-20.