Carmen’s Crew Wins The Basketball Tournament, $2 Million Prize

Carmen’s Crew — a team comprised primarily of former Ohio State basketball players — knocked off the Marquette alumni Golden Eagles, 66-60, to win The Basketball Tournament and its $2 million cash prize on Tuesday evening.

Forward William Buford hit two free throws to win the game under the Elam Ending and was named the game’s Most Valuable Player.

Forward David Lighty led the way for Carmen’s Crew offensively, scoring a game-high 17 points while adding seven rebounds and four assists. Buford and forward Jon Diebler, meanwhile, chipped in 14 and 11 points, respectively.

Carmen’s Crew jumped out to a 16-8 first-quarter lead by holding the Golden Eagles to 30 percent from the floor and 14.3 percent from behind the three-point line. But the Golden Eagles stormed back in the second frame, using an 11-2 run to cut the lead to just one midway through the second quarter.

The teams seemingly exchanged buckets from there, with the Golden Eagles claiming a 31-29 lead at the half.

It was more of the same in the third and fourth quarters, with Carmen’s Crew holding a 58-57 lead as the Elam Ending target score was set at 66 points (the target score is set by adding seven points to the leading team’s score at the first dead ball after the four-minute mark of the fourth quarter). The Golden Eagles pulled ahead with a quick three-pointer, but Carmen’s Crew scored the next eight points — including Buford’s aforementioned free throws — to seal the game.

On their way to the title, Carmen’s Crew defeated four-time defending champion Overseas Elite and last year’s runner-up Eberlein Drive.

Here’s how the team, including one fan, will split the $2 million prize:

Name Alma Mater (Years Active) Payout
Scoonie Penn (general manager) Ohio State (1998-2000) $200,000
William Buford Ohio State (2008-12) $200,000
Aaron Craft Ohio State (2010-14) $200,000
Jon Diebler Ohio State (2007-11) $200,000
Jeff Gibbs Otterbein (1999-2002) $150,000
Dallas Lauderdale Ohio State (2007-11) $50,000
David Lighty Ohio State (2006-11) $200,000
Demetri McCamey Illinois (2007-11) $150,000
Courtney Pigram East Tennessee State (2005-09) $200,000
Evan Ravenel Ohio State (2011-13) $200,000
Leon Rodgers Northern Illinois (1998-2002) $100,000
LaQuinton Ross Ohio State (2011-14) $150,000
Jared Sullinger (coach) Ohio State (2010-12) $50,000
DeShaun Thomas Ohio State (2010-13) $200,000
Evan Turner (coach) Ohio State (2007-10) $1
John Williamson Cincinnati (2006-08) $150,000
Fan Leader N/A $10,000