Dwayne Haskins Wins Chicago Tribune Silver Football Award



The awards keep rolling in for Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins.

Haskins, who has already been named the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year and Quarterback of the Year, was awarded the Chicago Tribune Silver Football on Friday, which goes annually to the top player in the Big Ten conference.

Haskins is the 18th Buckeye to win the award, and 2018 in the 20th year the award has gone to an Ohio State player, the most of any Big Ten team. Archie Griffin and Braxton Miller each won the award twice. The last Buckeye to win the award was J.T. Barrett in 2016, when he shared the honor with Penn State running back Saquon Barkley.

The Potomac, Md. finished with 11 total points in the voting for the award, placing him three points ahead of second place finishers Trace McSorley of Penn State and Johnathan Taylor of Wisconsin.

On the year, Haskins has completed 69 percent of his passes, throwing for 4,081 yards and 42 touchdowns to just seven interceptions. He has set both Ohio State and Big Ten records for touchdown passes and passing yards in a single season while leading the Buckeyes to a second straight Big Ten title game.

Ohio State is set to take on Northwestern on Saturday at 8 p.m. from Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis. The game will be televised on FOX.